About Us

You Can Help Us Help Children

Make a Difference Today

If you are passionate about child health in Manitoba, then we would like to hear from you!

Are you interested in being considered for the Children’s Hospital Foundation Board?

The Children’s Hospital Foundation Board of Directors is looking for individuals who are willing to devote their time, energy, funds, and talent.

The Children’s Hospital Foundation Board of Directors sets strategic direction, board policies, assists with fundraising and oversees the activities of the Foundation. Representatives from all sectors comprise the board.

The Board meets up to 10 times annually*.

  • Meetings are held at the Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba, 715 McDermot Avenue, 5th Floor from 12:00 p.m. to 1:30 p.m.
  • Annual General Meeting held in May
  • Additional commitments may also arise

Board members are normally elected to a three year term, with the possibility to serve up to two consecutive terms.

If you are interested in being elected to the Board of Directors, please send your letter of intent, area of interest and resume to Jacquie Simpson, Executive Assistant at jsimpson5@hsc.mb.ca. / (204)787-4095. The Nominating/Governance Committee will consider all applications for vacant positions that become available prior to the Annual General Meeting which is held annually in spring.


Have you thought about volunteering your time to help sick children?

In order to help raise funds for the sick children that we serve, the Children’s Hospital of Manitoba also has a number of standing committees. These committees generally meet 4-12 times a year, depending on the committee. Commitments include:

  • Advisory Council (meets periodically), Child Health Advisory Committee, Development (Fundraising), Finance, Human Resources, Investment, Marketing & Communications, and Nominating/Governance.
  • In addition to the above standing committees, there are also at present the following special event committees: Teddy Bears Picnic, Dr. Goodbear Golf Tournament, Ice Crystal Gala, the Children’s Hospital Book Market and the Bear Essentials Fashion Show, amongst others.
  • To learn more about some of the Children’s Hospital Foundation Special Events please click here.
  • Board members are expected, whenever possible, to attend events

If you are interested in sitting on a committee, please send your letter of intent, area of interest and resume to Jacquie Simpson, Executive Assistant at jsimpson5@hsc.mb.ca (204)787-4095  All applications will be forwarded to the Nominating/Governance Committee for review.

The Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba is a member of Imagine Canada. 

*subject to change


Board of Directors 2016/2017

Karen Cornejo, Chair

Vacant, Vice-Chair

Mark Evans, Immediate Past Chair

Dean Schinkel, Treasurer & Chair of Finance

Dr. Janet Grabowski, Chair, Child Health Advisory Committee

John Perrin, Secretary

Robert Darling, Chair, Investment Committee

Peter Davey,  Chair, Governance /Nominating Committee

Lisa Heimbecker, Chair, Development Committee

Jim McEachern, Chair, Marketing & Communications Committee

Darcy Strutinsky, Chair, Human Resources Committee

Jean Burton, Chair, Children’s Hospital Guild of Manitoba

Dr.Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, Chair, Advisory Council

Chris Kaeuenhofen, Representative, Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba Board of Directors

Carmen Aleshka

Wilf Brock

Chief Kevin Hart

Priti Mehta-Shah

Dr. Michael Narvey

Norva Riddell

Holly Toupin

Ex Officio

Dr. Terry Klassen – CEO & Scientific Director, Children’s Hospital Research Institute of Manitoba, , Professor & Head, Department of Pediatrics and Child Health, University of Manitoba; Medical Director, Child Health Program, WRHA

Lawrence Prout – President & CEO, Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba

Monika Warren – Program Director Child Health & Director of Patient Services, Child Health

Non Voting

Dr. Perry Gray, MD – Chief Operating Officer (Acting), Vice-President and Chief Medical Officer (CMO)

By-Laws as approved on April 15, 2014

Advisory Council

Dr. Cheryl Rockman-Greenberg, Chair

Colleen Horbay

David Johnston

Helen Litz

John Myers

Jim Rae

Jim Sangster

Ernst Schell

Earnest Shapera

Fiona Webster Mourant

Children’s Hospital Guild of Manitoba Board of Directors

2014-2016 ( as established at AGM January 11, 2014)



Chair: Jean BurtonAlison Darling

Eleanor Gibson

Marie-Alice Grassick

Colleen Horbay

Meredith McArthur

Bonnie Patenaude

Joan RettieAnna Sikora

Isabelle Steele

Ex Officio: Lawrence Prout



2016 Children’s Hospital Foundation of Manitoba Board